Saturday, December 26, 2015

What's on in January


Here are the times in the coming month when you're likely to bump into other gardeners down at the garden and garden organisers will be there to help show your around and answer questions:

Sun 27th Dec 9am -1pm - Garden & Gather and food swap
(Note 9am Summer start to beat the heat!)
Fri 1st Jan 10ish - Friday Meetup **
Fri 8th Jan 10ish - Friday Meetup **
Sat 9th Jan 10am-1pm - General pottering in the Food Forest **
Sun 10th Jan 10am-12pm Communal Gardening Group working bee **
Sun 17th Jan 6.30-8.30pm - Garden in Company (evening) **
Fri 15th Jan 10ish - Friday Meetup **
Fri 22nd Jan 10ish - Friday Meetup **
Sun 24th Jan 9am -1pm - Garden & Gather and food swap
(Note 9am Summer start to beat the heat!)Fri 29th Jan 10ish - Friday Meetup **

  • Members can obviously visit the garden when they want to including any of these sessions
  • If you're interested just come along
  • Friday meetups attract a regular crowd and are a good opportunity to garden in company and learn a few things
  • Sessions marked with ** will have someone who can provide advice and direction on what's to be done in communal growing spaces
  • Members who have not yet visited should come down on one of these days to meet the garden (and a few gardeners) and get shown around
  • If there's a time you're available to spend time at the garden and you want company, let us know and we'll add it to the list

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

What's on in December

Here are the times in the coming month when you're likely to bump into other gardeners down at the garden and garden organisers will be there to help show your around and answer questions:

Fri 4th Dec 10ish - Friday Meetup **
Sun 6th Dec 6.30pm-8.30pm - Evening Garden in company **
Fri 11th Dec 10ish - Friday Meetup **
Sat 12th Dec 10am-1pm - General pottering in the Food Forest **
Sun 13th Dec 10am-12pm Communal Gardening Group working bee **
Fri 18th Dec 10ish - Friday Meetup **
Wed 23rd Dec 10am-12pm - Garden in company **
Sun 27th Dec 9am -1pm - Garden & Gather and food swap
(Note 9am Summer start to beat the heat!)
Fri 1st Jan 10ish - Friday Meetup **

  • Members can obviously visit the garden when they want to including any of these sessions
  • If you're interested just come along
  • Friday meetups attract a regular crowd and are a good opportunity to garden in company and learn a few things
  • Sessions marked with ** will have someone who can provide advice and direction on what's to be done in communal growing spaces
  • Members who have not yet visited should come down on one of these days to meet the garden (and a few gardeners) and get shown around
  • If there's a time you're available to spend time at the garden and you want company, let us know and we'll add it to the list

Welcome to Moreland Community Gardening


Sign Up to start gardening
or to stay up-to-date
We're working together for a vibrant, sustainable network of community gardening locations in Moreland.

Our a 100% volunteer-based non-profit community group currently manages two community gardens in West Brunswick and Pentridge a food forest (also in West Brunswick).

Stop and think for 1 minute and you'll come up with at least one good reason for having community gardens all over the place. In case you don't have a minute or need some help, here are our top five!
  1. To bring people together.
  2. To hold on to Moreland's character and gardening knowledge.
  3. To provide somewhere where people can do some physical activity, relax and enjoy themselves
  4. To encourage sustainable gardening
  5. To make it easy for people to get hold of healthy locally grown food